My Social Media Policy

Having a social media policy is important. It helps determine why and how you use the Internet. Here are my top 8 policies:

MY SOCIAL MEDIA POLICY

1. Connecting: Introduce yourself and tell me why you want to connect

I think it is polite to introduce yourself when using social media. It is nice to know who the person is, their interests, and who they are affiliated with. Sometimes when interacting with people on a social media site you find their purpose is not to discuss and express their opinions, but to sell or solicit something. An introduction would eliminate these worries.

2. Follow, add, friend: Because you can’t be connected to everyone one  on the internet.

Usually when someone wants to be added or befriended, I first determine if i know them or not. If I know them personally ill accept and if I don’t I do a little research to see if I want to be connected to them. I usually add people that have the same interests as me or if we know a lot of the same people. When it comes to facebook I only accepted friend invitations from people that I know and have met.

3. Privacy, boundaries and safety: Don’t put anything online you wouldn’t want your mother to see.With Internet security you can put passwords and blocks on a lot of content, but they are not always fail safe. I think it is important to think about everything you write and add before you actually post them. Your online reputation is just as important as your offline. It is especially important to pay attention to your online presence because employers are now researching potential employees . So it is a good idea to keep it PG.

4. Signal to noise: Too much is too much

The social media experience I want is to simply learn and share. People have a lot of good ideas and useful information to share and the Internet makes this possible. I do however get annoyed when people post  every single thing they think and feel. Also I hate people who are rude and put others down if they have different ideas.

5. Personal data and sharing: social networking

My main goal right now is to network professionally. Many people out there have advice and resources that could be very helpful in the job searching processes. Also sharing interests is fun and fulfilling too.

6. My networking needs and uses: Facebook, Twitter, and Linkedin Oh my!

The networks I use the most are Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin, but I use them completely differently. Facebook is mainly for keeping in touch with friends and sharing photos. Linkedin is a great professional  site that allows you to connect with others and share info about job opportunities and allows for important introductions. I use twitter for fun and to discuss and chat back and forth with others. I have gained a lot of good info from Twitter.

7. People: Don’t connect yourself to questionable characters. 

I make it a point to try and find out what the people I’m connected to are like. Being associated with someone who has a negative reputation is negative for you as well.

8. Photos: Picture perfect

Don’t share pictures you don’t want your boss, family and peers to see. If they are online anyone can access them.

 

 

One Response

  1. […] My Social Media Policy « Embyrne’s Blog. […]

Leave a Reply

